wed 26th apr 2017

I’ve been thinking. Not about things I’m supposed to be working on, like my DISSERTATION, but I’ve still been thinking.

If a man wears what is perceived by society as ‘feminine’ clothes, it’s seen as a sign of power (to me, anyway). Power as in, even though I am a man, I have the option and the courage and the ability to dress in a fur coat or in these girl’s boots or nice makeup because I CAN. It’s not a sign of weakness, but it’s something applaudable, maybe even revered, for it’s open-mindedness.

But for a woman , if she wears a suit or ‘tomboyish’ clothing, she’s not sexy enough, or not attractive enough, or she’s not worthy of attention because she’s almost dressing down, in a way. She’s not glowing in an aura of courage.

This is how I see it, and I’m not sure if that’s how things actually are or it’s just the way my experiences have shaped how I think. I wish it was different though.

Leave a Reply

